Rensselaer Entrepreneur of the Year

A passion for innovation.

Established in 1990, this award salutes successful entrepreneurs who, in turn, are important role models for the students of Rensselaer. Those honored with the award bring the world of entrepreneurship into the classrooms and laboratories at Rensselaer, sharing their experience and wisdom with all students. Given the importance of the entrepreneurial spirit in the past, present and future of Rensselaer, it is indeed a singular honor Rensselaer bestows in selecting the Entrepreneur of the Year.  
The award is named for William F. (“Bill”) Glaser ’53, founder and President (retired) of Com Mar, Inc., a wholesaler of communication, navigation, and marine accessory products. Bill was active in Navy ROTC and the IFC. He is a member of the Delta Tau Delta fraternity. Bill created the entrepreneur of the year concept with Lally School Associate Dean Mark Rice ’71 in 1989, and the Award was launched in 1990.
Criteria for nominees:
  • Must be a Rensselaer graduate who has achieved great success in his/her industry.
  • For the purposes of this award, success means having built an enterprise or series of enterprises that have brought value to the marketplace, through either technical or social change.
Award Recipients
Mark Bernstein '94, Degerhan Usluel '94, Mark Wilson Ph.D.  Watch the video Founders of Interactive Learning International Corp. (ILINC) 2019
Tobi Saulnier '84, '89, '94 Watch the video Founder and CEO, 1st Playable Productions 2018
Jayant Kadambi '85, '86  Watch the video Founder, YuMe 2017
Robert L. Godgart ’82  Watch the video Serial Entrepreneur, Founder of Autotask 2016
Paul Bleicher '76 Watch the video CEO, OptumLabs 2015
John Delbridge '91
Jeffrey Stewart '91
David Uyttendaele '91 Watch the video
Founding Members of 2014
Karthik Bala '97
and Guha Bala Watch the video
Founders, Vicarious Visions 2013
Harry Ruda '68, '69G Watch the video CEO, Wing Power Energy 2012
Sean O'Sullivan '85 Watch the video Co-founder and Managing Director, Avego Ltd
Founder and Managing Director, SOS Ventures

Jacqueline Novogratz Watch the video
Watch the interview

Founder and CEO, Acumen Fund 2010
A.P. Parigi Watch the video Managing Director, Entertainment Network (India) Limited (ENIL)
Managing Director and CEO, Times Infotainment Media Limited
William G. Pomeroy ‘66 Founder and CEO, CXtec 2008
Brendan L. McKernan ‘00 Co-founder and VP of Operations, Agencourt Biosciences Corp. 2006
Frederick W. Smith Chairman, President and CEO, FedEx Corp. 2004
James Q. Crowe ‘72 CEO, Level 3 Communications 2003
John J. McDonnell Jr. ‘61 Founder, Chairman and CEO, Transaction Network Services Inc. 2002
Mukesh Chatter ‘82 Founder, President and CEO, Axiowave 2001
Curtis Priem ‘82 Co-founder and CTO, NVIDIA Corp. 2000
Nancy S. Mueller Founder and President, Nancy's Specialty Foods 1999
Arthur L. Goldstein ‘57 Chairman, President and CEO, Ionics Inc. 1997
John H. Broadbent Jr. ‘59 Co-founder, CFO, VP Finance and Treasurer, Arrow International Inc. 1995
Paul J. Severino ‘69 Founder and Chairman, Bay Networks 1994
Warren Bruggeman ‘46 VP and General Manager, General Electric's Nuclear Business Operations 1993
Salvator Alfiero ‘64 Founder, Chairman and CEO, Protective Industries LLC 1992
Thomas LeFevre ‘71 Co-founder, Intuit 1991
William Mow ‘59 Founder, Bugle Boy Industries 1990
Titles and affiliations listed are representative of the positions held at the time the award was given.